Free Consultation

Office Locations

The Cochran Firm Legal Blog

With Office Locations Nationwide

Monday, September 27, 2010

Texas Laws Governing DUIs

Whether you're meeting friends after work or having a party at your house, you quite often have an opportunity to drink. Drinking to excess and then driving, however, can result in anything from a minor fender bender to jail time to death. Texas DUI law prohibits anyone over the age of 21 from driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit of .08 percent, the nationwide standard. Drivers under the age of 21 are prohibited from driving with a BAC of .02 percent, and commercial drivers from driving with a BAC of .04 percent.

If you are arrested with a DUI in Houston, Texas and it is your first conviction, you are facing the following sentencing:

  • Between 72 and 180 days in jail
  • Between 180 days to 2 years in jail if a child under the age of 15 was in the vehicle
  • Suspended driver license between 90 to 365 days
  • A fine up to $2,000
  • A fine up to $10,000 if a child under the age of 15 was in the vehicle
  • A DUI surcharge of $1,000 per year for 3 years
  • A DUI surcharge of $2,000 per year for 3 years if your BAC was .16 or higher

Sentencing for repeat convictions will cost you more jail time and higher fines. You have rights under the law if you have been convicted of a DUI in Houston, Texas. Please contact the experienced Houston DUI lawyers at the Cochran Firm for legal representation in your DUI case. You deserve to have your rights protected.

Labels:

posted by Benjamin A. Irwin at 8:37 AM

1.800.THE FIRM | 1.800.843.3476

The Cochran Firm handles Civil Litigation and Criminal Defense claims for clients throughout the United States of America. The information on this website does not constitute legal advice nor form an attorney-client relationship.Please contact The Cochran Firm today to schedule a free consultation.

Site Design, Development and Optimization by Page 1 Solutions | © - | Disclaimer